After India defeated Bangladesh by five runs using the DLS method on Thursday in a 2022 T20 World Cup Super 12 match, vice captain Nurul Hasan claimed that the on-field umpires had missed a “fake throw” by Kohli that might have tied the game.

He told reporters, “It could have been a five-run penalty. That might have also gone our way, but regrettably… that didn’t happen.”

Moments before play was halted by rain, Liton Das hit a ball off Axar Patel in the seventh over of Bangladesh’s innings that went deep into the off-side field.

Arshdeep Singh of India threw the ball back, and Kohli, who was positioned at point, pretended to throw the ball as it whistled past him.

Umpires Marais Erasmus and Chris Brown didn’t take action, despite Liton and non-striking batsman Najmul Hossain pointing it out, a Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) official told AFP.

So, what does ICC law say about fake fielding?

According to ICC’s Law 41.5.1, “it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”

The law goes on to state that “It is for either one of the umpires to decide whether any distraction, deception or obstruction is wilful or not.”

“And if either umpire considers that a fielder has caused or attempted to cause such a distraction, deception or obstruction, he/she shall immediately call and signal Dead ball and inform the other umpire of the reason for the call.”

The law further states that if there is any such case “the bowler’s end umpire shall award 5 Penalty runs to the batting side.”

“We will discuss the issues wherever we get a chance to discuss,” he added. “It’s not a protest because there is no benefit of doing it now.”

The International Cricket Council is scheduled to hold a board meeting in Melbourne next week during the tournament and Bangladesh will raise the matter “if an opportunity comes”, BCB cricket operations chief Jalal Yunus told AFP.